Best Email Marketing Tools for Creators in 2026
Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, Create Digital Tools may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. We only recommend tools we think are a good fit for small businesses.
The best email marketing tools for creators do different jobs. A tool that suits a weekly newsletter can be the wrong buy for a course funnel, and a DM bot is not a newsletter platform at all.
Quick answer
Pick by the job you need done, not by the longest feature list.
- Newsletter plus automation: GetResponse. Paid plans start at $19 a month for 1,000 subscribers on monthly billing.
- Funnel with sales pages and checkout: Kartra. It is an all-in-one, so you pay for far more than email. Past 500 contacts, the next plan is $119 a month.
- Turning Instagram DMs into signups: Manychat. It is DM automation first. Pair it with an email tool for a regular newsletter.
- A pure newsletter on a free plan: look at Kit or beehiiv too. We have no affiliate link for either, and their free limits beat GetResponse on subscriber count.
This roundup compares tools by the job they do for a creator. It is based on each vendor’s own pricing pages, feature pages and help articles, not on hands-on tests. All figures are pricing as of November 2026, in US dollars, and may exclude local tax.
The best email marketing tools for creators compared
| Tool | Best job | Lowest paid price | Free option | Main catch |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GetResponse | Newsletter with automation, landing pages and funnels | $19/mo monthly, $15.58/mo billed yearly (1,000 subscribers) | Yes: 500 contacts, 2,500 newsletters a month | Starter has 1 custom workflow and no funnels |
| Kartra | Sales pages, checkout, funnels and memberships in one account | $59/mo monthly, $52/mo annual (500 contacts) | None listed; the page advertises 14 days free | 5% transaction fee on Essentials; forced upgrade past your contact limit |
| Manychat | DM automation that collects email addresses | Depends on your account (see below) | Yes, with no email channel | Sources conflict on plans; extra emails cost $0.003 each |
| Kit (no affiliate link) | Creator newsletter and simple digital product sales | $33/mo with $390 billed yearly (1,000 subscribers) | Yes: up to 10,000 subscribers | Sequences and visual automations start on the paid Creator plan |
| beehiiv (no affiliate link) | Newsletter with paid subscriptions and ad monetization | $49/mo on yearly billing (Lite) | Yes: up to 2,500 subscribers | Paid subscriptions and ads are not listed on Free |
Notion is not in the table because we are not listing it as an email tool. It appears later as the planning layer, for readers who want one. Notion has a free plan for individuals.
Start with your job, not the brand
Creators use the phrase “email tool” for three different purchases. Each one has a different cost pattern and a different way of going wrong.
- The newsletter job: you write regularly, and the list is the product or the main audience. You need reliable sends, a signup page and simple segments.
- The funnel job: you sell a course, a coaching offer or a digital product. You need sales pages, checkout, upsells and follow-up that reacts to who bought.
- The DM capture job: your audience lives on Instagram or Messenger. You need a comment or keyword to start a chat that asks for an email address and hands it to your list.
You may end up doing two of these. Buying one tool for all three is possible, but it often means paying funnel prices for a newsletter or using a chat tool as a weak email system.
GetResponse: the middle option for email plus automation
GetResponse is the most conventional email tool of the three affiliate picks here. According to its pricing page, every paid plan includes unlimited monthly sends and unlimited landing pages, and the plans differ mainly in automation, funnels and creator extras.
What each plan adds
- Starter ($19/mo for 1,000 subscribers): email, landing pages, 3 users and 1 custom automation workflow. No funnels.
- Marketer ($59/mo for 1,000): unlimited workflows, lead, lead magnet and sales funnels, abandoned cart recovery and 5 users.
- Creator ($69/mo for 1,000): adds webinars for up to 100 attendees, a website builder, a course creator and premium newsletter subscriptions.
- Enterprise: custom pricing with SMS marketing and a dedicated sending domain and IP, among other extras.
Premium newsletters are the creator-specific feature to check. GetResponse’s help article says they connect through Stripe, that GetResponse charges no extra transaction fee, and that Stripe charges its default fees. The pricing page lists the feature under the Creator plan.
The Creator plan’s course limit grows with your list. The pricing data shows 500 active students at 1,000 subscribers and 5,000 at 10,000.
The free plan
The free plan page offers space for 500 contacts, 2,500 newsletters a month and one published landing page. Landing pages are capped at 1,000 unique visitors a month, and messages carry a GetResponse badge. Paid features are available free for the first 14 days, then limited.
Who should not buy it
Skip GetResponse if you only want a free newsletter for a list above 500 people, since Kit and beehiiv allow far more subscribers on their free plans. Skip Starter if you need more than one custom automation, because that limit can arrive quickly once you run a welcome series and a lead magnet.
If you do choose it, our GetResponse email funnel walkthrough covers the signup page, lead magnet and welcome sequence step by step.
Kartra: an all-in-one, not a pure email tool
Kartra sells email as one part of a larger system. Its homepage names landing pages, sales funnels, checkouts, memberships, help desks and video alongside email marketing. Judged only as a newsletter tool, it is expensive. Judged as a replacement for several sales tools, the math can change.
What the email side does
Kartra’s support documentation separates one-time Emails, automated Sequences and event-triggered Email Notifications. Its built-in sending service is called KartraMail. If you send from your own domain through KartraMail, you must authenticate that domain with DKIM first.
The email feature page also lists A/B testing, tags and lists, abandoned cart campaigns, and reporting on revenue per send. Those are vendor descriptions, so test the workflow you need during the trial.
The plans
| Plan | Monthly billing | Annual billing, per month | Contacts | Emails and SMS | Transaction fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Essentials | $59 | $52 | 500 | 10,000 a month | 5% |
| Starter | $119 | $99 | 2,500 | Unlimited | 0% |
| Growth | $229 | $189 | 12,500 | Unlimited | 0% |
| Professional | $549 | $429 | 25,000 | Not stated separately | 0% |
Three things to read before buying
- Essentials is narrow. It allows 5 pages, 1 product, 1 membership or course, and takes 5% of sales. A creator selling steadily should work out whether Starter costs less overall.
- Upgrades are automatic. The pricing page calls the subscription flat-rate with no extra fees, but also says passing your lead limit moves you to the next tier with a mid-cycle reconciliation fee. The page does not give a formula for that fee.
- Some page figures conflict. The comparison tables give different Kartra AI allowances for Growth and Professional, so confirm those if they matter to you.
The page also advertises 14 days free and a 30-day money-back guarantee. It is not fully clear whether the free period covers every plan, so check at signup.
Who should not buy it
Skip Kartra if you only send a newsletter, or if you already have a course platform and checkout you like. Our Kartra vs Circle vs LearnWorlds comparison covers the course side in more depth. Buy it when you would otherwise pay for pages, checkout, email and memberships separately.
Manychat: DM automation that feeds a list
Manychat is primarily a chat automation tool. Manychat’s email collection guide describes the idea: a follower comments a keyword, an automation asks for their email address inside the DM, and the address goes to your list.
That makes it useful in front of an email tool. For the setup itself, see our comment-to-DM guide.
What its email features are, as confirmed
Manychat does have an email channel, but only on paid plans. Here is what its help article on sending email confirms:
- Email is not available on free accounts.
- Your monthly allowance scales with your plan. The one example given is 5,000 free emails a month for accounts with up to 500 contacts.
- Extra emails cost $0.003 each, charged in 5,000-email increments, with any remainder billed at month end.
- Emails go out from a Manychat address by default, such as noreply@many-mail.io. Using a business domain needs separate setup.
- Email broadcasts are supported and are not subject to the 24-hour window that applies on other channels.
The pages we checked do not describe a full newsletter editor, an archive or subscriber reports, so we make no claims about them. Treat email in Manychat as a supporting channel unless your own trial shows it covers your needs.
Pricing: the sources conflict
This is the messiest pricing of the group. Manychat’s help article on choosing a plan lists five plans, priced by monthly Active Contacts, for accounts created on or after March 2, 2026. It adds that availability may vary by region.
| Plan (help article) | Billed yearly, per month | Active Contacts |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Up to 25 |
| Essential | $14 | Up to 250 |
| Pro | $29 | Up to 2,500 |
| Business | $69 | Up to 7,500 |
| Advanced | $139 | Up to 25,000 |
However, the version of the pricing page this post was checked against shows an older structure: a Free plan for up to 1,000 contacts, Pro from $15 a month scaling with list size, and a custom Premium plan. It lists email on Pro and Premium only.
We can’t tell you which one you will see, so check the calculator in your own signup flow. The help article does not say which of the five new plans include email, so confirm that before you count on it.
An Active Contact, per Manychat’s pricing announcement, is a person you interact with through DMs or automations in a given month. That post gives Essential as $17 on monthly billing with $0.10 for each extra Active Contact in its example.
Example only: a Reel that brings 1,000 people into your DMs in one month, on that Essential setup, would mean 750 extra contacts. That is $75 on top of $17, so $92 for the month. Pro at $29 billed yearly covers 2,500 contacts, which is why a creator with viral spikes should not sit on the smallest plan. Manychat says you can set an overage cap in billing settings.
Connecting it to your email tool
Check this before paying for anything. Manychat’s email collection guide says it connects natively with platforms like Mailchimp, ActiveCampaign and ConvertKit, the former name of Kit, and that Zapier fills the gap for other tools.
That guide does not name GetResponse. Manychat’s app directory does list a GetResponse Subscriber Sync app, built by a third party, which syncs email, name and up to two custom fields. The listing says it is paid after a trial of up to 50 uses, and it does not state a price.
Who should not buy it
Skip Manychat if your audience does not reach you through DMs, or if a newsletter is your only goal. If WhatsApp matters more than Instagram, read our Wati vs Manychat comparison first.
Kit and beehiiv: the alternatives you should know about
We have no affiliate link for these two, and a roundup for creators would mislead you if it left them out. Both market themselves directly to creators, and their free plans hold more subscribers than the GetResponse free plan. The facts below come from their pricing pages.
Kit
Kit’s Free plan covers up to 10,000 subscribers, with unlimited landing pages, forms and broadcasts, tagging and segmentation, and selling digital products and subscriptions. Unlimited visual automations and sequences start on Creator, at $33 a month with $390 billed yearly for 1,000 subscribers. The page shows prices only for that tier and says accounts move up automatically as lists grow.
beehiiv
beehiiv’s Free plan covers up to 2,500 subscribers with unlimited sends. Paid subscriptions and ad monetization are listed from Lite, at $49 a month on yearly billing, and the page advertises a 0% take rate, with Stripe’s standard 2.9% + $0.30 per transaction still applying. Lite goes up to 100,000 subscribers, but the displayed price is labelled for 1,000 subscribers, so check it at your own size.
The trade-off is scope. Neither is a like-for-like replacement for Kartra’s funnel and checkout system, and neither replaces DM automation. If your job is purely a newsletter, though, start your comparison here.
What each tool costs at realistic list sizes
These are worked examples from the vendor pricing pages, not quotes. GetResponse figures come from the list-size options in its pricing page. Each cell shows monthly billing first, then the per-month price on yearly billing. Kartra’s column uses the smallest plan that holds the list.
| List size | GetResponse Starter | GetResponse Marketer | GetResponse Creator | Kartra |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1,000 | $19 / $15.58 | $59 / $48.38 | $69 / $56.58 | $119 / $99 (Starter) |
| 2,500 | $29 / $23.78 | $69 / $56.58 | $79 / $64.78 | $119 / $99 (Starter) |
| 5,000 | $54 / $44.28 | $95 / $77.90 | $109 / $89.38 | $229 / $189 (Growth) |
| 10,000 | $79 / $64.78 | $114 / $93.48 | $134 / $109.88 | $229 / $189 (Growth) |
Manychat is left out of this table because it prices on contacts you interact with, not on a mailing list, and because of the plan conflict above.
Example: 5,000 subscribers for a year
- GetResponse Starter, billed yearly: $531.36.
- GetResponse Marketer, billed yearly: $934.80.
- GetResponse Creator, billed yearly: $1,072.56.
- Kartra Growth at $189 a month on annual billing: $2,268.
Kartra costs about $1,195 more than GetResponse Creator in this example. That gap is only worth paying if you use its checkouts, memberships and funnels, and could cancel other subscriptions as a result.
Example: a DM capture stack at 2,500 subscribers
Assume Manychat Pro at $29 billed yearly (help article pricing) plus GetResponse Starter at $23.78 billed yearly. That comes to $52.78 a month before any connector cost. Remember that Starter allows only one custom workflow, which may push you to Marketer at $56.58, for $85.58 in total.
How to choose in five steps
- Write down what the email list must earn or do in the next 12 months: audience, course sales, or paid subscriptions.
- If you will not sell through checkout pages this year, rule out Kartra for now.
- If your audience does not reach you through DMs or comments, leave Manychat until later.
- Price your list at its size 12 months from now, not today. Use the table above and the vendor calculator.
- Run the trial on your real workflow: one signup page, one welcome email, one test purchase or test sync.
Plan the content before you pick the sender
No sending tool will fill an empty newsletter calendar. A simple planning system helps, and it can sit outside your email platform. Notion works for that: its forms page describes forms that can be shared with people who have no Notion account, which suits reader questions and topic requests. Its pricing page lists a free plan for individuals, then Plus at $10 per member a month on yearly billing.
If you want a ready-made setup, our Creator Studio OS 2027 Notion template ($19) includes a content database with a calendar, idea bank and production board, plus a brand deals pipeline and income tracking. It names newsletter writers in its audience, but its page does not list a dedicated email or subscriber tracker, so you would log newsletter issues in the content database.
Prefer a spreadsheet? The Content Planner 2027 ($3.99, Google Sheets and Excel) has a 400-row calendar, an idea bank and a collabs and brand income tracker. Its feed preview is built for Instagram, so it suits social-led creators best. You can also follow our guide to building a content calendar in Notion from scratch.
FAQ
What are the best email marketing tools for creators on a budget?
Start with free plans. Going by the vendors’ pricing pages, Kit’s free plan goes up to 10,000 subscribers, beehiiv’s up to 2,500 and GetResponse’s up to 500 contacts. Among paid plans here, GetResponse Starter is the lowest at $15.58 a month billed yearly for 1,000 subscribers.
Is Manychat an email marketing tool?
Not primarily. It is chat and DM automation with an email channel on paid plans. Its help article confirms broadcasts and automated emails, a usage allowance and a per-email charge above that. It fits best as a way to collect addresses, with the newsletter run in a dedicated email tool.
Is Kartra worth it just for email?
Usually not. At 1,000 contacts you need Starter at $99 to $119 a month, because Essentials stops at 500. GetResponse Starter at the same size is $15.58 to $19. Kartra makes sense when you also use its pages, checkout and memberships.
Can GetResponse sell paid newsletters?
Its pricing page lists premium newsletter subscriptions under the Creator plan, and its help article says payments run through Stripe. GetResponse says it adds no transaction fee, while Stripe charges its default fees.
Can I connect Manychat to GetResponse?
There is a third-party paid app in Manychat’s directory that syncs email, name and up to two custom fields. Manychat’s guide also says Zapier can bridge tools without a native connection. Test the sync on a small flow before relying on it.
Do these prices stay the same as my list grows?
No. GetResponse prices rise by list size, Kartra moves you up a tier when you pass your contact limit, and Kit says it moves you to the next tier automatically. Manychat scales by contacts too. Budget for your expected size in a year.
Notion systems, spreadsheets and planners with a setup guide. Instant download.